The Countdown Begins

Standard

August 5, 2012

I’ll be home in October. This is already public knowledge but I figured for the two people reading this blog (I’m counting my mother as one), I would let you know how I am dealing with that daunting reality.

My service is being cut two months short. Admittedly the months leading up to this news were difficult but I kept thinking that I would have one final push in my service. Leaving in late November would have allowed me to start another school year and I thought I would have the chance to really teach again, to work with my fellow teachers, to give them anything and everything I had left. I also thought I was going to get a few more dresses made because I’m an addict and also completely worried about my ability to clothe myself in America. Without those couple months, I feel like I am being robbed of that happy ending. I will leave after three months of relative inactivity due to vacation schedules, school remodeling and sweltering summer heat…not how I wanted it to go.

In my time left I am trying to focus on the positive aspects of my time here, spend time with the people who have made this place home and appreciate every last cup of tea I chug down in the coming weeks.

One response »

Leave a Reply

